Members of the Department of Community and Leadership Development are engaged in the mission of Cooperative Extension in the College of Agriculture, Food and Environment to address the needs of Kentucky residents through participatory and intentional programming, evidence-based engagement, and supporting student and professional development.

Unique among university engagement efforts, Cooperative Extension has a more than 100-year history of providing linkages to the university and research-based information and programs.

Through partnerships and collaborations, instruction, and applied research, members of CLD address state and community audiences and work with county Extension agents to provide research-based information and programs directed towards building a strong future for communities, families, youth, and agriculture. Some of those areas of which our Extension faculty have taken the lead or been involved include:

  • Improving and maintaining the agricultural, social and economic vitality of communities
  • Developing the character, leadership and responsibility of today’s youth
  • Promoting healthy lifestyles among Kentucky families

Cooperative Extension is a partnership that began in 1914 when county, state and federal governments agreed to work together in an effort to provide all citizens with access to resources as a result of research and educational application through public universities and colleges designated as “Land-Grant Institutions.” In Kentucky, that includes a partnership between the U.S. Department of Agriculture, University of Kentucky, Kentucky State University and 120 local county governments working to solve problems and address community concerns. 

To learn more about Cooperative Extension in Kentucky, accountability for local programming, or to find local County Extension Offices, visit their website here.

Community and Leadership Development faculty and staff with Cooperative Extension appointments include:

Dr. Ron Hustedde

Dr. Kenneth R. Jones

Dr. Daniel Kahl

Dr. Kristina Hains

Dr. Darryl Strode

Dr. Julie N. Zimmerman